Mildred Pierce stills

HBO is currently producing a miniseries-remake of Michael Curtiz’s 1945 rags-to-riches melodrama Mildred Pierce (one of the Must-See 500). The new version, helmed by Todd Haynes (I’m Not There, Far From Heaven), will star Kate Winslet, Guy Pearce, Evan Rachel Wood and Melissa Leo and is sure to scoop up Emmys, Golden Globes and SAGs galore. Awards Daily posted some nice stills from the production that I thought I would pass along, mainly because I’m rather impressed how well they’ve recreated the Southern California vibe, considering they’re filming in New York. Go figure.

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo 3

…and now, the real reason I’m posting about this.

Veda Pierce 1

Veda Pierce 2

Why, hello there. The Depression never looked so good.

One thought on “Mildred Pierce stills

Leave a comment